The National Association of Medicaid Directors (NAMD) began as an independent, bipartisan, nonprofit, professional organization in 2011. Medicaid directors previously were represented as part of a larger umbrella group of agencies under the American Public Human Services Association, known as the National Association of State Medicaid Directors (NASMD). In 2010, state Medicaid directors voted unanimously to reincorporate as a separate group. Despite NAMD’s young history, Medicaid and state Medicaid directors have existed since 1965.

NAMD represents members who oversee Medicaid in each of the 50 states, District of Columbia and U.S. territories. Medicaid directors are the senior leaders in states driving major innovations in health care while overseeing Medicaid, one of the nation’s most vital – and complex – health care safety net programs, which covers more than 72 million Americans. Medicaid directors work tirelessly to provide the best possible health care to vulnerable Americans while being responsible stewards of taxpayer dollars.

The NAMD board of directors is comprised of 12 members; a president, vice president, immediate past president, two representatives from each of four regions in the United States and one representative from the U.S. Territories.

The officers are elected by a national vote of the membership, and the regional representatives are elected by the state members of the appropriate region. The board provides ongoing leadership for NAMD by overseeing association administrative matters, representing NAMD in meetings with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), serving as a liaison between NAMD and the various federal agencies and workgroups and providing overall policy guidance. The president, vice president and all other board members are elected in even-numbered years for terms of two years.

NAMD’s regions are:


Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming


Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin


Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas


Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia


American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands